User Menu

MFA for Educators

Engage your students with the collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, to illustrate themes and concepts in any discipline.

Zither (koto)

Start collecting

Music: Rokudan no Shirabe ("Composition in Six Movements") by Yatsuhashi Kengyo, mid-1600s (performed by Ayakano Cathleen Read on a koto made by Yoshida, Tokyo, 1974)


2005, gift of the New England Conservatory to the MFA. (Accession Date: April 27, 2005)

Credit Line

Gift of the New England Conservatory of Music

19th century

Object Place



Length 190.9 cm, width 25 cm, height 15.7 cm (Length 75 3/16 in in., width 9 13/16 in., height 6 3/16 in.)

Accession Number


Medium or Technique

Paulownia and other woods, lacquer work, tortoiseshell, ivory, silver


Musical Instruments


Musical instruments, Chordophones