User Menu

MFA for Educators

Engage your students with the collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, to illustrate themes and concepts in any discipline.

No. 7, the Sixth Shogun, Lord Ienobu (Rokudai shôgun Ienobu kô); No. 8, the Seventh Shogun, Lord Ietsugu (Shichidai shôgun Ietsugu kô); from the series Fifteen Generations of a Great Family Tree (Daiju jûgosei): The Tokugawa Shoguns

Start collecting

The complete series of 16 designs on 8 sheets: 11.37771-8. Text by Gibokudô Shujin. The censor's seal is mirror-image reversed.


Yoshitoshi (on each design)


By 1911, purchased by William Sturgis Bigelow (b. 1850–d. 1926), Boston [see note 1]; 1911, gift of Bigelow to the MFA. (Accession Date: January 19, 2005) NOTES: [1] Much of Bigelow's collection of Asian art was formed during his residence in Japan between 1882 and 1889, although he also made acquisitions in Europe and the United States. Bigelow deposited many of these objects at the MFA in 1890 before donating them to the Museum's collection at later dates.

Credit Line

William Sturgis Bigelow Collection

Japanese, Meiji era, 1875 (Meiji 6), 4th month

Catalogue Raisonné

Newland, Yoshitoshi (2011), p. 22, fig. 16 (lower half only)


Two horizontal chûban on uncut vertical ôban sheet

Accession Number


Medium or Technique

Woodblock print (nishiki-e); ink and color on paper